My Go To Foundations.

I have been wearing make up since I was at least 14 years old and one of the biggest struggles of that time is finding that one soul mate of a foundation. Having struggled with bad skin for as long as I can remember my foolish young self thought the best way to deal with this was to cover it all up with heavy full coverage foundations. Now that I am older, hopefully wiser, I have discovered a light coverage foundation with good concealing is a much better option for my skin. So in this post I will be sharing 6 of my favourite foundations (technically 3 are BB creams but we’ll just go with it) and why I love them so much. So let’s begin.

The Body Shop All-In-One BB Cream 00
The Body Shop All-In-One BB Cream 00

Oh this BB cream might be my soul sister. My skin has always loved Body Shop products and reacts so well to them, so when I started using this my skin basically jumped up and down with joy. Super light weight consistency, feels like there’s nothing on the skin and spends the whole day sitting under all the other face products moisturising and doing good stuff. Now along with being light weight it is a very light coverage, do not expect this BB cream to cover anything more than evening out some redness. But with good concealing it looks so natural and what it lacks in coverage it makes up for in skin benefits.

Estee Lauder Double Wear All-Day Glow BB Intensity 1.0
Estee Lauder Double Wear All-Day Glow BB Intensity 1.0

The newest BB cream to join my little collection (bought in duty free so ever so slightly more affordable) and my current go to. This does have a more foundation like consistency and is less cream like than other BBs I have tried and is thus a more light plus coverage. I personally have never tried to build coverage but it seems like it could be build-able. Evens out skin tone beautifully, covers tiny imperfections and redness well but spots and scars still need concealing. This is more of a splurge product but since not a lot of product is needed for each application it will last me a long time, I like to get my moneys worth.

Body Shop Vitamin E Cool BB Cream
Body Shop Vitamin E Cool BB Cream

The last of the BB creams. Not much to say about this one, its a good bog standard BB cream that just does the job. I tend to use this product more when my skin is feeling a little dehydrated because it does have great moisturising qualities. Again a very light coverage that needs a good amount of concealing but for those days when your skin needs a big drink this is a great option.

Body Shop Extra Virgin Minerals Loose Powder 102 Natural Ivory
Body Shop Extra Virgin Minerals Loose Powder 102 Natural Ivory

The only powder foundation in my collection and the only one I’ve found myself being able to work with. I use this more on days when my skin is looking pretty good and doesn’t need much concealing. Leaves a lovely velvet finish while letting the skin breathe a bit more. It also works nicely over a BB cream for a little more coverage.

Estee Lauder Double Wear Light Intensity 1.0
Estee Lauder Double Wear Light Intensity 1.0

This used to be my go to everyday foundation choice before I discovered BB creams. Good solid light coverage foundation, that can be built up to medium, but still requires some concealing. Lovely matte finish, great a evening skin tone out but became a little heavy for me for my everyday use. Now its my go to night out foundation because of its medium coverage and its wonderful staying power, I can dance up a sweaty storm and still looks almost flawless. Great colour match for this pale gal and just love love love it.

Maybelline Dream Flawless Nude 10 Ivory
Maybelline Dream Flawless Nude 10 Ivory

Like the Double Wear Light much more of a light build-able to medium coverage foundation. Feels gorgeous on the skin as it leaves a velvet, soft, semi-matte finish. Great colour match for the pale and because of its fluid consistency is so easy to blend and thin out where its not needed but build up where it is.

So that’s my foundation/BB cream collection. Since adopting the light coverage good concealing philosophy my skin has only got better and I can’t rave about it enough. Obviously some people love a more full coverage approach but if you’re looking to dial it back a little the products mentioned are great options to try.

Thanks for reading. Speak soon.

-Sally ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

