Crafting for Christmas. Making Bunting.

I have always loved one of a kind, hand made crafts. The fact that they are so personal and made with such love makes them so much more beautiful to me. Now I`ve never been particularly creative but luckily I have an amazing mother who is extremely talented when it comes to all things textiles. So with mother keeping an eye on me, I attempted to make my first ever lot of bunting.

 

*DISCLAIMER* I got a good way through and forgot to take photos so there will be a gap but I will try my best to fill it in with words.

 

DSC_0015

First thing I did was get an example of bunting that my mum had made to use as a guide but you could always just use anything triangular shaped or go free hand.

DSC_0017

Then I traced around it to create my pattern for my own bunting making sure to leave a seam allowance.

DSC_0018

This will be the pattern to use for cutting out the fabric and it can be kept for making more bunting at a later date.

DSC_0016

Next choose your fabric. I got these three from a local haberdashery shop and they were nice and cheap as they were run offs.

DSC_0019

Folding over the fabric for when you cut out the pattern just makes life easier as you will need two lots of fabric for each bit of bunting.

DSC_0020

Keep cutting out until you run out of fabric.

DSC_0021

Place two bits of fabric with the pattern sides facing each other as you will need to sew inside out. Now ids where I stopped taking photos because I`m super useful but from there you would pin the fabric in place and head to your sewing machine.

From there you sew all the way around the outside leaving a gap of about 4cm on one of the sides of the triangle so that you can turn it back to the right way round. Once you have turned it inside out to the pattern facing out cut some red ribbon into lengths of 10cm fold in half and place in the hole that is left.

Sew up the hole with the ribbon inside to make it look like the trunk of a Christmas tree.

DSC_0022

Find some fabric or ribbon that you want the bunting for hang from and attach using a button to look like the star on top of the Christmas tree.

Tidy up all the stray bits of thread and repeat the process for all the bits of fabric you have cut out until your bunting is complete.

 

And there you have it, a quick little guide to the worlds simplest bunting. Let me know if you try it out.

I hope everyone has an amazing Christmas and a very happy New Year.

 

Thanks for reading. Speak soon – Sally πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

