The Last Three Books I Read.

In the reading department I am a very lucky girl. I work in a school where they have a drop and read policy…basically for 25 beautiful minutes a day I get paid to read. This has given me the chance to power through some books I’ve been dying to read.

So here is the list of the last three books I got to read at school.

image

The first book I took on was Bloodlands by Timothy Snyder because I was told to read it at university and never got a chance. For those of you who are not history nerds this might seem to be a bit of a dull choice but if you’re like me it was super interesting. It was a fascinating discussion comparing the death tolls of the Stalin and Hitler regimes in eastern Europe and it comes up with some brilliant points and surprising insights.

image

The next book I took on I have been dying to read since I first saw and fell in love with the film Into The Wild. If you seen the film the book is in the same vein but you really get to know parts of Chris’ past better though still not enough. If you haven’t seen the film then watch the film it’ll capture your heart, imagination and sense of adventure and you’ll want to read the book.

image

A huge contributor to Into The Wild was Chris McCandless’ sister, who for reasons she explains, felt it wasn’t right to tell the full details of the truth to Jon Krakauer though made sure to let the essence sink in. Many years later she decided, again for reasons she explains, to write her own book truly outlining the violence of their past that lead to Chris’ need to walk Into The Wild.

I would implore any history nerds to read Bloodlands and any lovers of truth and right to read Into The Wild and The Wild Truth and get to know Chris McCandless, you won’t regret it.

What have you guys been reading I’d love to know??

Thanks for reading. Speak soon – Sally πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

