L’Oréal Elvive Extraordinary Clay Clay Masque: First Impressions and Review

Hello!

As soon as I saw the new L’Oréal Extraordinary Clay range, I got a little bit excited.  I don’t wash my hair every day, at the most I can eek it out three days without washing my hair, but I live by dry shampoo in-between.

When I saw this range come out, it was the Clay Masque I was most intrigued by, silly marketing campaign aside (I am confident every person with hair has suffered from oily roots and dry ends) I love a hair mask, and I also love a fast mask with clay in it so this was right up my street. Like with my post on Lush’s Ultrabland prepare for some step by step photos:

image

image

image
The Masque has an almost gelatinous texture.
image
Placed on my roots and massaged across the scalp (and my fringe)
image
And it dyed my fingers, this wouldn't come off until the next morning 😓

The Masque had an almost soufflé texture which I wasn’t expecting, in my mind I was prepared for something more clay-ey. You apply it to your roots and massage thr product across your scalp and leave it for five minutes before washing it out and starting your normal hair wash routine.

As you can see from the pictures this product stained my finger tips immediately after use, and no amount of soap and water could remove it. It’s strange as I have used this product three times and this is the first time I’ve experienced staining. It came off the next morning, and it’d not to noticeable a stain at first.

The product has a lovely scent, and according to my sister I look like I have mermaid hair (life goals!). But the big question is, did it make a difference?

Not really, no. I still need dry shampoo to perk up my fringe on day two and three, and my roots seem no less oily. Im going to give this product a couple more trys then pass it over to my sister to see if she has any luck. One major benefit of this product for me is the extra time it takes before I wash my hair, it makes the experience much more indulgent, and I love a head massage. Ultimately I don’t think I’ll be repurchasing this product, though I will give it a couple more trys.

Have you tried this product, did it work for you? Or do you have another recommendation for keeping a fringe happy?

– Emily

Leave a Reply

