What to wear to a blogger event?

I distinctly remember attending my firstt blogger event last year and feeling nervous about a hundred different things: would the bloggers be nice, would I be treated like an outsider, would I be able to keep up with thier conversations, what the heck were you even meant to wear to a blogging event?

New situations make you uncertainty, and uncertainty can make you feel nervous. Ultimately I dressed a little more “up” than I would normally, I put a few curls in my hair and popped a pair not heeled boots.

It turns out that it was pointless to worry though everyone looked incredibly stylish they did so in a jeans and scrappy vest, or a sleeveless knit. I slipped my boots off and spent the afternoon talking to a bunch of the nicest people (post here).

If your looking for a bit of inspiration, here’s a collection of outfits from events across the seasons:

The Garden Picnic Look:

My first event, I wanted to dress a bit trendy with the 70’s style skirt, but not go against the relaxed nature of the event. 
The Afternoon Tea Look:

This was around Christmas-time I wore a belted Poncho I had made from a picnic blanket,curled my hair and popped a red peplem top and jeans on. Warm, comfortable and perfect for browsing through some shops after.
The Straight after work look:

A quick selfie with Ellie with our lovely @no7_drakecircusplymouth makeover

A post shared by May to October (@maytooctober) on

I kept a nod to the trends in a bardot setyle off the shoulder top, which I paired with a very full midi skirt. As this was a makeup event I kept my look natural for work with a pretty braid.
The pretty summer dress/brunch look:

If you can’t dress up for brunch, when can you? This was my first time wearing this gorgeous Primark dress and will not be the last time. I paired thus with the same boots i seem to wear to every event!

The themed event look

The last blogger event was Alice Themed so I opted for a light blue headscarf in Alice style colours, a little Skirt and an oversized T Shirt with a scene for the book. Inkeeping with the theme and my style without bordering on fancy dress.

Ultimately wear whatever the heck you want. Other bloggers aren’t any different to your normal circle of friends, wear something that makes you happy. Generally when it comes to a blogger event I’ll wear something new, whether that’s a dress or lipstick. Working in an office I relish an opportunity to dress-up.

– Emily

2 thoughts on “What to wear to a blogger event?

  1. I know exactly what you mean! Wearing something new normally makes me feel great. I woke up this morning, suddenly realised I’m going to a fashion preview tonight – and I’m definitely NOT a fashion blogger! I’ve gone for a black skirt like your Alice one and a floaty light coloured top with a bronze beaded neckline. There’s more pressure at blog events as everyone is so stylish! Alice xx

    http://www.woodenwindowsills.co.uk

    Like

    • I think you put a lot of pressure on yourself as your with a bunch of your peers, and you are representing your brand.
      What’s the event your going to tonight? I hope theres an outfit post on either your blog or social media, I really like your style ๐Ÿ™‚ x

      Like

Leave a Reply

