Little collective book review: A Man Called Ove, Me Before You, The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Nighttime 

​I’ve always been an avid reader, and part of my intentions with this blog was to review a my latest reads as I discovered them. Currently i am reading a lot, I have a new extra long commute each day and I easily spend ten hours a week reading just in trains. This post is a mini review of sorts, either these books arnt obsessions or I’ve found it difficult to clearly articulate why I loved them.im finishing them with a simple keep or donate, i pick up a lot of books from charity shops and like recycling them in this way. If you wanted to see a few of the previous books I’ve shared on here this is a good place to find them.

A Man Called Ove:

Lunch break time #lunchbreak #lunch #salad #book #reading #amancalledove #bookworm #flatlay

A post shared by May to October (@maytooctober) on

This was my last book club read, my new job makes it awkward to get to book club in time. I’m hoping, against hope, that next meeting (August 4th) will be one I can make! Anyway, I didn’t know what to expect with this book, I recognised the cover from a recent Waterstones display and had been mildly intrigued by the novel.

It took around four chapters to move from apathy for Ove to actual tears. This was  an addictive page turner of a book. I’m about to lend it to my boyfriend’s mum, but when I get it back I have a feeling I will be re-reading it.

Keep

Me Before You: JoJo Moyes 

Sam Clafin and Emila Clarke are two actors I have a soft spot for and the trailer for the upcoming film sold me on this story.

It’s a very simple love story with truly human characters. The story tragic yet bittersweet and very well written. You can truly appreciate the perspective of each charwxt, and the sheer length of the book (512 pages) means you have a good amount of time to make this story a part of your life. One parr of the story which has stayed with me even now, is Louisa’s experience with the maze.

Even with all this, I won’t be holding onto this book. As true as Louisa and Williams’ feelings are for each other, the story left a bad taste in my mouth because of how much William relies on Louisa for part of his care, that payment takes this from being a sweet uncomplicated relationship that would see Louisa in real hot water if she was a professional carer. That said I will be seeing the film, and I will be crying. Lots.

Also, now I’ve reflected on the story I might need to re read it to give it a chance…

Donate (eventually) 



The Curious Incident of the Dog In The Nighttime

https://www.twitter.com/MayToOctober_/status/707843499136323584/photo/1

There’s not much for me to say about this one, aside from the fact I really liked the idea and uniqueness of this. I found this a very hard read I had to force myself though, I didn’t enjoy it (as much as I wanted to!) and it is in a pile for the charity shop, where it can hopefully find a new home.
Donate 

If you’re reading this and thinking I would love to read that… Im happy to lend out a out book, just promise you’ll return it! Drop me a message on Twitter if you want to chat books @Maytooctober_ 

And if you’re looking for a new blogger who also talks books check out Alice and Becca.

– Emily 

2 thoughts on “Little collective book review: A Man Called Ove, Me Before You, The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Nighttime 

    • Of course you can! I’ll text you & work out how to get it to you. My one condition is we talk about the book afterwards 😉 Hopefully, buy the time you finish it I’ll be ready to re-read it!

      You’re very welcome, I really love your booky posts (and others!). Xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

