The Power of Good Girl Friends.

I have had a really horrible summer. Going through a break up, especially when you had no idea it was coming, is not fun at all. But when I was feeling low and ugly crying who was there…the most amazing females I know.

 

You know you have a great blogging partner and friend when you can turn up to her house and just cry for a few hours. That is what Emily is to me. This woman works in another city, has to commute every day and has her own life stuff going but when I was in need she made herself completely available to me. She was a shoulder for me to cry on, she was an amazing advice giver and a great distracter and I would have struggled so much these last few weeks without her there. I’m half hoping she gets dumped soon so I can make it up to her (I don’t really just trust me she’ll find that funny).

 

Let’s not forget the best friend a girl can have, our mums. When you’re only single figures old she’s your absolute world, then as your grow up she seems like the devil and it’s not until your high teens that you realise she’s just a girl like you but she knows you better than she knows herself. Now, I will argue that my mum is the best in the world and after my break up she really was, she let me be sad but that didn’t stop her telling me some much needed home truths. I am so glad to have that wonderful woman in my life helping to guide me through the best and worst of times, I hope I’m half as good at being a mum as she is.

 

Us girls have this horrible habit of wanting to tear each other down for the most trivial of things, usually because of some stupid boy. Yet when something goes wrong those same girls are the ones we go running to because only they can understand and support us the way we need. So, I am taking an oath, as someone who recently really leaned on the fabulous females in her life, to try every day to only raise women up and support girls in whatever they choose to do. We need each other more than we care to admit and I would like to my bit to end girl hate.

 

Anyway that was just a little thought that’s been going around my head for these last few weeks. Make sure you show your girl friends or anyone who means anything to you that you appreciate them and tell them often.

 

Thanks for reading. Speak soon – Sally πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

