I bought new shoes! Mini Primark Haul


I put some new shoes on, and suddenly everything is right.
Paulo Nutini



Shoes are an area of styling that I tend to struggle with. Presently I have a series of shoe genres I stick to: androgynous (brogues and moccasins), feminine (ballet flats), vintage (t bar) and boots (chunky ankle types). I have heels and higher boots, and a few plimsoles but shoes confound me.

I know what I like (strappy, t bar or animal print), and I wear those shoes to death. This is why I found myself in need of some new ballet flats (or dolly shoes if you prefer). I find these shoes go with the majority of my wardrobe, from jeans and tees to smart workwear and ditsy summer dresses. However, because of the nature of these flats I find they don’t last long. I started 2016 with six pairs of flats which I could rotate and love, and I found myself binning the second to last pair of these in August when the soles started separating from the sides.
Cue a need for new ballet flats and a trip to Drake Circus. After trying New Look in search of any bargain flats (I’m a touch cash strapped at present) I ventured to Primark looking for a pair of simple black ballet straps, and I hit the jackpot.

The first things I saw was this lovely pair of black ballet flats with an ankle strap, allowing me to feel all vintagey and retro. These are also lovely as I can alternate them with my pointed T Bar flats I’ve been favouring recently. I can see myself wearing these in a work, or more professional environment.


Just around the corner from these I found some elasticated fold up black flats, and could resist them. I often walk into work with trainers or plimsoles on to offer my feet a bit of support, and slip into a pair of flats when I get in. These fold up smart shoes mean I can easily do this, and not lose space in my bag! I wore these to an interview this week, and they proved very comfortable.


Finally I saw these leopard print flats. I-love-Leopard print. I feel like this print lifts an outfit from simple and pulled together to fashionable and edgy. I tried these on, loved how they looked with my skinny jeans, and popped them straight in my basket. I wore these to the Bridget Jones event this week (post pending!) and around my home town the next day and they looked incredible. They had started to rub a touch the next day, but nothing horrific.

All in all, I don’t think you can beat Primark for ballet flats. And in this case, I cannot wait to see how I can pair the leopard print and strappy flats with more of my wardrobe.
Have you been shoe shopping in Primark recently? Are you a flats or heels fan?
– Emily

Leave a Reply

