13 Thoughts I had during BIG The Musical

A little while ago, I was in the Theatre Royal excited to watch Big The Musical. The show is starting it’s tour in Plymouth before moving to Ireland on its world tour.

A few weeks prior to this I popped into the Theatre to have a chat with Becca, the Theatre were setting up a Blogger Scheme and my application had been shortlisted. This is the entire reason I was at the Theatre on a Tuesday night to attend a show with a bunch of people I had yet to meet. The eleven of us were at different stages blogging wise, but we all shared the same love of theatre. We were lucky enough to be shown around backstage by the Gary Wilmot, who, aside from being one of the loveliest people I’ve ever met, really made time to share what it’s like to set up for a show ahead of press night.

Big is a real childhood favourite, so being given this chance to watch the stage adaption was something I was seriously overexcited about.reviewing shows isn’t one of my fortes. I get far too over excited and love everything, so I thought I’d pull together a post of thoughts during the show. You get an insight into my 100 mile an hour brain:

  1. The show is worth seeing, if only for Jay in his pants.
  2. Managing to hold back the tears during I want to Go Home was an achievement, I wanted to give Josh a hug so badly 😦
  3. I was not expecting that keyboard scene to look how it did. A true thing of beauty.
  4. Going to a show with like minded strangers proved really, really fun.
  5. The screens for the staging (which were 4.5 tonnes btw) were breath taking. Seeing it before the show when it looked pretty ordinary only added to this.
  6. I LOVE that Josh’s flat was so similar to the film, I was so envious of it as a kid.
  7. Can I persuade Matt that the first dance at our imaginary wedding should be Stars?…
  8. Why havent I downloaded Fun already?
  9. Can I please have Diana’s jumper from Act 2, Scene 2?
  10. I need to dance like noone’s watching more often…
  11. Diana Vickers is incredible. Her voice is breath taking, her character accessible and her stage presence… just wow!
  12. Gary Wilmot is not only hilarious, but lovely. He gave us a backstage tour and my final images of him punting as the stage rotated around will always bring a smile to my face
  13. I cant think of a single person who could have channeled Tom Hank’s adoreable niavity and integrity better than Jay. His character was a nod to the source material, whilst remaining original and organic.

 

Ps – if you are looking for more serious and knowledgeable reflections on shows I can’t recommend the lovely Ellie enough.

The Theatre Royal were lovely enough to gift the tickets to myself and the others on the scheme, but the above thoughts are entirely my own.

One thought on “13 Thoughts I had during BIG The Musical

Leave a Reply

