Beautiful blue Asos Curve shirt dress: Another workwear piece

My style has always been a little on the preppy side. I found a picture from an aunts birthday when I was about 15 years old and I’m wearing a black vest with a silky high sheen blue blouse. I have a very distinct memory from sixth form of wearing a black 3/4 sleeved button up blouse with my jeans and being asked if I was going for an interview. For me, Blair’s style wins hands down over Serena’s every time. 

 At about 18 I moved from these preppy smart nods to more casual looks, I spent years of my life working in retail wearing uniforms I disliked and dressing for the weekend. However, studying for my degree a few years later meant volunteering and updating my wardrobe, so I was office smart. These volunteer hours, and the office hours I have invested since graduating have brought back my love of preppy, smart, more tailored looks. Especially when I see so many gorgeous stylish women day in, day out.
Add ASOS Curves incredible workwear range, and purchasing this dress was inevitable:

You are looking at a shirt dress, in a size smaller than I would have purchased last year which fits over my bust without any pulling. This is the first button up top I have bought in the last eighteen months, which I haven’t had to hand stitch hook and eyes into, to retain my dignity. This dress screams office appropriate to me, it’s from a lovely cotton material(which is a touch thinner than I would expect) which layers beautifully ,sits nicely and the colour does wonders for pale ladies like myself. It creases very easily but I will forgive that, and it can easily be lifted for a social occasion or evening drinks.


I’m a big fan of shopping my wardrobe, so everything I’ve styled this with in my post is past season. The hat is from a vintage fair last year, the scarf is an ancient New Look beauty, The full skirted Mac is a Primark staple, the boots are from Schuh (thier EBay outlook specifically), the necklace is an old Debenhams piece, and the scarf was a birthday present. Three clear ways to style a new purchase, which makes me much happier about purchasing something I didn’t need, but really wanted.

Best thing about this dress?  It’s currently in the sale at £16.50! Link here if you wanted to check it out.

– Emily

Please forgive my slightly awkward modelling, slowly getting the hang of this!! And thank you to the lovely boyfriend for shooting these back in 2016.

Leave a Reply

