White Chocolate and Stem Ginger Fudge Cookies

I love fudge, two of my favorite really indulgent bakes are my Chocolate Fudge Brownies, which I brought with me to my first blogger event, and a Chocolate Fudge cake heck, Fudge was one of my recommendations in last years Fathers Day Gift ideas post. When the opportunity to work with a local fudge brand on a baking post presented itself I jumped at the chance.

I was given a couple bags of The Devon Fudge Company Stem Ginger Fudge, and when playing about with ideas I settled on a sweet  and gooey cookie with white chocolate. I felt the flavor pallet was subtle enough to really hero the Stem Ginger Fudge.

I flicked through my go to baking cook books: Saved By Cake – Marian Keys and The Humming Bird Bakery Cookbook. I settled on the White Chocolate Macadamia Cookies (with a few small alterations):
Recipe:

300 g Sugar

400g Flour

2 large Eggs

1/4 tsp Baking Powder

250g Butter

1/2 tsp Vanilla extract

100g White chocolate

125g Stem Ginger Fudge

Instructions 

  1. Preheat your oven to 170 C
  2. Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy and light yellow in colour, gradually add the eggs.
  3. Add the vanilla extra. And slowly fold in the flour and baking powder.
  4. Fold in the white chocolate, usinf an ice cream scoop portion out your cookies on a baking sheet. Add pieces of chopped Fudge to the cookie’s, avoiding the edges.
  5. Cook for 12-15 minutes. Less time allows for a gooier cookie, and longer allows for a more solid biscuit.

A couple small tips:

– I used any sugar I had left, the benefit of demerara/brown sugar is the sweetness and the colour it adds to the bake. I’m a lazy Baker, so on occasion I make do. The original recipe called for a 100g caster sugar to 200g light brown sugar.

– adding the Fudge at the end allows for an even distribution amongst the cookie’s, avoiding the edges stops any Fudge escaping out of the cookie.

– I omitted the pinch of salt from the original recipie, your call.

I actually Instagram Storied the whole baking process when I made this on Saturday, Im loving Instagram Stories right now (evidenced here) and if you wanted to give me a follow I’m over on: Maytooctober

What do you think? They went down very well, my family made thier way through the batch in about three days!

– Emily

Thank you to the Devon Company for the gifting of thier fudge. If you haven’t tried them yet, they run competitors where you could win a bag of fudge over on thier Twitter from time to time.

Leave a Reply

