Styling a Pyjama Top

I haven’t reached into the Pyjama top trend on a big scale, I picked up a slightly garish Hawaiian style version when the trend first hit the high street, and this sleek ASOS number made its way over to my doorstep a couple months ago.

This top is fairly loose fitting and flowy. Like you would imagine with a normal Pyjama top, it’s styled around comfort and movement. One of the things that really drew me to this top is how forgiving it is of the middrift area. With a fastening under the bust, this has almost an empire line finish hitting the slimmest part on me. Presently I wear this with either a black or lacy vest top and I may need to add a hook and eye to this, to keep the finished look demure, it cuts quite low on the bust.

The loose fit of the top means it is best paired with a more fitted bottom half. Be that black jeans, or a pencil skirt. My work wardrobe either comprises of these jeans or a lovely cropped pair of Monsoon trousers (similar) which, as a look, commits to the full trend.

My hair tends to live in a braid of some form, so adding a sleek hair style and a very bright lip lifts this look. I also adore chunky heeled shoe boots, so will wear them whenever I can. Even if I do end up covering them in the floor of the wooded area we were shooting…

– Emily

Boots – Primark – Jeans – New Look Curve here – Top – ASOS Curve Silmilar – Lipstick – MAC Pickled Plum link

 A note to say my waist is definitely smaller in this than it is in reality. Lens Distortion and Photoshop correction for you.

One thought on “Styling a Pyjama Top

Leave a Reply

