Reading Challenge: Stephen King Part Two


I am extending my Stephen King reading challenge. If you didn’t read my initial post, I set myself the challenge of reading twelve of the authors books in a year and I didn’t reach my target. I blame IT (1116 pages) and Needful Things (790 pages) which I read one after the other.

I am giving myself until the end of 2017 to complete this challenge, with the below books making it onto my shortlist:

7) Stephen King Goes To The Movies 12/04/17

8) Pet Sematary 24/04/17

9) On Writing

10) Full Dark, No Stars 29/04/16

11) Insomnia

12) The Stand

The Stand is a book I picked up around seven years ago and didn’t finish, the story is incredibly compelling and the only reason for the break is that I can never put my hands on it! I tried to read Pet Sematary as a young teen, but disengaged after Church’s death. I aim to read this from cover to cover this year. The other stand out book on this list for me is On Writing, I found this in a charity shop last year and am looking forward to sampling some of King’s Non-Fiction.

Let’s see how I get on this year! You can find me on Goodreads and I will update my progress there. Technically, I’m on my third King novel of the year already with Full Dark, No Stars.*


Excluded from the original list: Doctor Sleep, The Dark Half, Christine. Though knowing how The Dark Half fits into the Alan Pangborn story line that may find its way into the main list. I also reeeeeeally want to re-read Cujo.

– Emily

* I have read the first sixty pages of Full Dark, No Stars so far…

5 thoughts on “Reading Challenge: Stephen King Part Two

Leave a Reply

