The last book I couldn’t put down…

I have at least two full posts dedicated to my love of Stephen King. One of the most interesting things about challenging myself to read the authors back catalogue is when I discover a book I felt ambivalent towards the first read, and now ADORE.

That was Pet Sematary for me ( and No,that isn’t a typo). The book follows the story of Louis and his family, when they move to a new town for his job. The main themes are heritage, secrets and grief. I read this novel in two parts whilst traveling to and from Birmingham, it’s a fairly quick read at 424 pages and a real page turner. As I reached the hundred or so pages I was internally screaming at LouisIt’s well written, constructed and fairly unpredictable. This is a sad story, but a good story.

The interesting this is I really disliked this book when I read it as a young teen, and I remember being so irritated by the film. Which I am now keeping everything crossed ends up on Netflix soon.

If you try this book let me know what you think, keep track of my reading challenge here.

– Emily

Leave a Reply

