What’s In My Handbag First Day At Work 

This is a throwback post.

Twelve months ago today, I walked through the doors of my office after murdering the surname of my supervisor. I remember feeling distinctly overwhelmed after reading through some of the forty SLA’s, and being shown the processes that would fit into our day-to-day lives, watching Dee answer an email faster than seemed physically possible (with hind sight, she was using auto correct shortcuts). One thing I did twelve months ago was start a post, which I didn’t publish, linked to preparing for my first day:

  • Lunchbox
  • Waterbottle
  • Fruit
  • Trail mix
  • Purse
  • Glasses
  • Umbrella
  • Scarf
  • Pencil case
  • Make up
  • Handcream
  • Kindle
  • Spare canvas bag
  • Ipod and headphones
  • A tub of brownies

Some of this is from previous first day experience; I’ve had jobs where there was no stationery on my first day, and another where there was no desk. So bringing a notebook, and a few pens meant I knew I could take the 10000 notes I wanted, the water bottle avoided the potential politics of using someone else’s mug, and the brownies linked into a joke from my final interview.

– Emily

– Emily

Leave a Reply

